Smithfield Township, Monroe County, PA  USA

    • Brian E. Barrett, Chairman /Right to Know Officer/Secretary
    • Lee Bower, Vice Chairman, Operations Manager
    • Robert Lovenheim, Supervisor, Assistant Secretary

The Township is governed by a three-member Board of Supervisors, each elected for a staggered six-year term. The Supervisors establish policies and regulations in order to maintain the health, safety, and welfare of our residents. Regular meetings are held twice per month. Supervisor's Meetings are second and fourth Tuesdays at 7:00 pm.
Work sessions are every Wednesday at 4:30 pm


  •  Frank Cefali

 The Township Treasurer shall receive all moneys due the township and deposit them promptly. Keep distinct
and accurate accounts. Pay out all moneys only on direction by the board of supervisors. Annually state the accounts and make them available to the board of auditors for settlement

Zoning Officer

      • Ken Wolfe

The Zoning Officer is responsible for enforcing Township Ordinances. He inspects construction sites, reviews plans, issues zoning permits and answers complaints.

Sewage Enforcement Officer

      • Dave Manter 

Our Sewage Enforcement Officer takes applications for the installation of new on-lot sewage systems or the repair or replacement of an existing system, does soils testing, and inspects the installation of sewage systems.

Building Code Official


The Roadmaster is an employee of the township and oversees the township road department. Any questions or concerns about the township's roads should be directed to the Roadmaster's attention. Email –  or call the township office at 223-5082.

Right to Know Officer/ Secretary

Smithfield Township - Direct Appeals and inquiries to:

Brian Barrett, Right to Know Officer
SmithfieldTownship Office of Open Records
1155 Red Fox Road
East Stroudsburg Pa. 18301
Telephone: 570 223-5082 option # 5


  • Sharon Gerberich


3017 Valhalla View Drive North
East Stroudsburg Pa 18301
Telephone 570 424-8969  


Sewer Authority

    • Russ Albert - Chairman
    • David Timko - Vice Chairman
    • Brian Barrett - Secretary
    • Maryann Bridges - Treasurer
    • Member - Vacancy
    • Daniel M. Corveleyn, Esq. (Authority Solicitor)
    • Fred I Courtright, PE. of the firm Gilmore Associates - (Authority Engineer)
    • Assistant Secretary Non-Member: Terri Timko
    •  Right to Know Officer: Terri Timko


    • The Sewer Authority is a five-member board appointed by the Board of Supervisors to serve five-year terms. They are responsible for the operation and maintenance of the municipal sewer system in the township. Sewer Authority Meetings are held the 2nd Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. Hours of operation are 8AM to 4PM Monday thru Friday. 

Board of Auditors

    • John Siptroth, Chair
    • Judy Moeller, Vice Chair
    • Kathleen White

The Board of Auditors are elected officials who serve a six-year term. They are responsible for conducting or overseeing the annual audit of the Township accounts.

Zoning Hearing Board

    • Barbara Lewis
    • Lucas Fuller
    • Pamela Barrett
    • Robert Meyer
    • Vacancy
    • Alternate: Vacancy
    • Jeffrey Durney, Esq. Zoning Board Solicitor
    • Recording Secretary: Lois Turr

The Zoning Hearing Board is comprised of five township residents appointed by the Board of Supervisors with the option of appointing 3 alternate members. They each serve a staggered three-year term. Their duties are to hear requests for variances or special exceptions as described in the zoning ordinance. Meetings are held the first Tuesday of the month, as needed, 7:00 p.m. at Smithfield Township.

Regional Park Commission

    • John Ferro, Chair
    • Rich Cullin, Vice Chair
    • Leslie Underhill
    • Susan Cooper
    • Kevin Casebolt
    • Al Decker
    • Larry Shoemaker
    • Jeff Reichel
    • Vacancy, Smithfield Township
    • Lee Bower, Liaison Smithfield Township

Meetings are held at the Smithfield township Municipal Building, 1155 Red Fox Rd on the third Monday of each month beginning at 7:00 p.m.  *Meetings are held March-December

Roads & Maintenance

    • Edward McCormack, Roadmaster
    • Patrick Norman
    • Jeremy Popecki
    • Wayne Mosteller
    • Scott Valentine
    • Fred Taylor

The Road Department is comprised of six full-time employees responsible for over fifty miles of Township Roads. Their duties include, but are not limited to, road construction and maintenance, winter snow and ice removal, traffic and street signage, stormwater works, and maintenance and repair of the Township’s equipment.

Planning Commission

  • Doug Schryver - Chair
  • Martha Carbone - Vice Chair
  • Michael Albert
  • Bill Mosteller
  • David Strunk
  • Bob Moses
  • Jason Startari

The Planning Commission is a seven-member board appointed by the Board of Supervisors who each serve a five-year staggered term. The Commission is responsible for short and long term planning within the Township. They review subdivision plans and requests for zoning changes, and make recommendations to the Board of Supervisors. Meetings are held the 1st Wednesday of each month, 7:00 p.m.

Worksessions are held the last Wednesday, also 7:00 pm.


Township Parks & Recreation Commission

    • Rich Cullin, Chair
    • Ken Predmore
    •  Richard Laverdure
    • Vacancy
    • Vacancy
    • Vacancy
    • Vacancy

The Park Commission is a seven-member board appointed by the Board of Supervisors. Each member  serves a staggered five-year term. The Park Commission oversees the Township’s park system and makes recommendations to the Board of Supervisors for the operation and maintenance thereof. Meetings are held at the Smithfield Township Municipal Building on the first Monday of each Month beginning at 7:00 PM

Open Space Committee

Township Engineers

  • Boucher and James, Jon Tresslar, PE
  • Hanover Engineering, Sal Caiazzo, PE

Environmental Advisory Council

    • David Rimberg -  Chair
    • Amy Albert  -   Vice Chair  
    • Mary Ellen Higgins
    • Gary Swartz
    • Vacancy
    • Vacancy
    • Vacancy


The Environmental Advisory Council advises local governmental agencies including Board of Supervisors, Planning Commission and Park and Recreation Board on matters dealing with the protection, conservation, management, promotion, acquisition and use of natural resources including air, land, water and open space resources located within and affecting Smithfield Township.

The EAC is comprised of seven township residents appointed by the Board of Supervisors, with one member also a member of the Township Planning Commission and one member also a member of the Board of Supervisors . 
Members shall be from as many different regions of the township as possible and represent various interests of the township.
They each serve a staggered three-year term.

Meetings are held the second Thursday of the month, 7:00 p.m. at Smithfield Township.

Township Solicitors

  • Ronold Karasek, Esq. of the The Karasek Law Offices, L.L.C.

Financial Auditor

  • Kirk, Summa & Co., LLP Certified Public Accountants